Meb Keflezighi Wins Boston Marathon as First American Winner in 31 Years

By David Li,

Boston, April 21, 2014, — It’s a perfect day for Marathon in Boston, and American runner Meb Keflezighi makes it even better as he led all the way to finish line. Keflezighi became the first American winner of the Boston Marathon since 1983 on Patriots’ Day of 2014.
Meb Keflezighi crosses the finish line (from Boston Marothon Facebook page).

According to, the unofficial time for Meb Keflezighi was 2:08:37. If the time stands it will be a personal record and the second fastest time by an American male runner at Boston Marathon.

At the finish line of the men’s race a few minutes after noon time, the temperature was 61.5F, 23% humidity with no wind. Meb was greeted by his brother and other volunteers at the finish line. He even did a push up to celebrate his victory.

According to, the victory is the third career win for Meb Keflezighi. He won the TCS New York City Marathon in 2009 and the U.S. Olympic Trials in 2012.

Commentators of CBS TV broadcast team mentioned that Keflezighi’s victory comes at a great moment “for America and for Boston.” They sounded a little bit concerned at the last mile when the runner-up was only a few seconds behind.

The 118th Boston Marathon draws record-breaking 36,000 runners after last year’s Marathon bombings near the finish line on April 15, 2013. Vice President Joe Biden declared “we own the finish line” in a speech marking anniversary of the Marathon bombings in Boston.

The following is unofficial results of the top 10 finishers of the men’s race.

1. Meb Keflezighi (San Diego, Calif.) 2:08:37
2. Wilson Chebet (KEN) 2:08:48
3. Frankline Chepwony (KEN) 2:08:50
4. Vitaliy Shafar (UKR) 2:09:37
5. Markos Geneti (ETH) 2:09:50
6. Joel Kimurer (KEN) 2:11:03
7. Nick Arciniaga (Flagstaff, Ariz.) 2:11:47
8. Jeffrey Eggleston (Boulder, Colo.) 2:11:57
9. Paul Lonyangata (KEN) 2:12:34
10. Adil Annani (MAR) 2:12:43