Tsinghua University SEM Appoints New Advisory Board Members: Tim Cook, Ma Yun and Jim Breyer

Beijing, Oct. 28, 2013, — On Oct. 23, School of Economics and Management (SEM) Advisory Committee of Tsinghua University, the leading university in science and technology fields in China, held 2013 meeting at Tsinghua University. Three new members were appointed to SEM’s Advisory Board: Tim Cook, Apple CEO , Ma Yun, founder of Alibaba Group, and Jim Breyer, venture capitalist and board member of Harvard University.
Cover of book Zhu Rongji On The Record, The Road to Reform, 1991 – 1997

SEM Dean Dr. Qian said that the development of the college advisory committee played an important role, and the advisory committee meetings in the form of innovation. Advisory Committee agenda this year the addition of a new event, the “Advisory Board administered into the classroom.” On Oct. 22, 15 advisory board members visited 15 classes, and had face to face communication with Tsinghua students.

Initiated by SEM’s Founding Dean Zhu Rongji, the Advisory Board of Tsinghua SEM was established in October 2000. Since its establishment, the Advisory Board has met annually to offer advice on the development of Tsinghua SEM.

List of SEM’s board members as of October, 2013.

Honorary Chairman:

ZHU Rongji
Founding Dean, School of Economics and Management, Tsinghua University(1984-2001)
Former Premier, State Council, People’s Republic of China(1998-2003)

Honorary Members:

Lord Browne of Madingley
Partner and Managing Director, Riverstone Holdings LLC
Former Group Chief Executive, BP PLC

Henry M. Paulson, Jr.
Former U.S. Secretary of the Treasury
Former Chairman and CEO, The Goldman Sachs Group, Inc.

H. Lee Scott, Jr.
Chairman, the Business Advisory Board for BDT Capital
Former President and CEO, Wal-Mart Stores, Inc.

WANG Qishan
Member, Standing Committee of Political Bureau of CPC Central Committee
Secretary, the CPC Central Commission for Discipline Inspection


Daniel F. Akerson
Chairman and CEO, General Motors

Dominic Barton
Global Managing Director, McKinsey & Company

Lloyd C. Blankfein
Chairman and CEO, The Goldman Sachs Group, Inc.

Sir John Bond
Former Chairman, Vodafone Group PLC
Former Group Chairman, HSBC Holdings PLC

Jim Breyer
Partner, Accel Partners

Henri de Castries
Chairman and CEO, AXA Group

Tim Cook
CEO, Apple

CHANG Zhenming
Chairman, CITIC Group

CHEN Jining
Vice Chairman, Tsinghua SEM Advisory Board Meeting
President, Tsinghua University

Vice Chairperson of the 12th National Committee of the Chinese People’s Political
Consultative Conference (CPPCC)
Former Chairman, China Development Bank

Jamie Dimon
Chairman and CEO, J.P. Morgan Chase & Co.

Robert Dudley
Group Chief Executive, BP PLC

Michael T. Duke
President and CEO, Wal-mart Stores, Inc.

William E. Ford
CEO, General Atlantic LLC

Dr. Victor K Fung
Honorary Chairman, Li & Fung Limited
Group Chairman, Fung Group

Christopher B. Galvin
Chairman, CEO and Co-Founder, Harrison Street Capital LLC
Former Chairman and CEO, Motorola Inc.

Carlos Ghosn
Chairman and CEO , Renault-Nissan Alliance

Terry Gou
Founder and CEO, Foxconn Technology Group

Maurice R. Greenberg
Chairman and CEO, C. V. Starr & Co., Inc.
Former Chairman and CEO, AIG

GU Binglin
Chairman, Beijing Association for Science and Technology
Former President, Tsinghua University

GUO Shuqing
Governor, Shandong Province
Former Chairman, China Securities Regulatory Commission

HO Ching
Executive Director and CEO, Temasek

Nobuyuki Idei
Founder and CEO, Representative Director, Quantum Leaps Corporation
Former Chairman and Group CEO, Sony Corporation

Irwin Mark Jacobs
Founding Chairman and CEO Emeritus, Qualcomm Inc.

Muhtar Kent
Chairman and CEO, The Coca-Cola Company

Henry R. Kravis
Co-Chairman and Co-CEO, KKR

Richard C. Levin
Former President, Yale University

Richard Li
Chairman and Chief Executive
Pacific Century Group Office

Robin Li
Co-Founder, Chairman and CEO, Baidu Inc.

Li Rongrong
Former Chairman, State-Owned Assets Supervision and Administration Commission

LIU Chuanzhi
Chairman, Legend Holdings Ltd.
Founder and Honorary Chairman, Lenovo

Minister, Office of the Central Leading Group on Financial and Economic Affairs

LIU Mingkang
Former Chairman, China Banking Regulatory Commission

LOU Jiwei
Minister, Ministry of Finance, People’s Republic of China

Andrònico Luksic
Chairman, Luksic Group

Jack Ma
Executive Chairman, Alibaba Group

MA Kai
Member, the Political Bureau of the CPC Central Committee
Vice Premier, State Council, People’s Republic of China

Michael McNamara
CEO, Flextronics

Alan Mulally
President and CEO, Ford Motor Company

Nitin Nohria
Dean, Harvard Business School

Indra K. Nooyi
Chairman and CEO, PepsiCo

Jorma Ollila
Chairman, Royal Dutch Shell

Thomas S. Robertson
Dean, the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania

David M. Rubenstein
Chairman, Tsinghua SEM Advisory Board
Co-Founder and Co-CEO, The Carlyle Group

Garth Saloner
Dean, Stanford Graduate School of Business

David Schmittlein
John C Head Ⅲ Dean, MIT Sloan School of Management

Stephen A. Schwarzman
Chairman, CEO and Co-Founder, Blackstone

Martin Senn
CEO, Zurich Insurance Group

Risto Siilasmaa
Chairman, Nokia Corporation

John L. Thornton
Chairman, Board of Trustees, Brookings Institution
Co-Chairman, Barrick Gold Corporation

Joseph M. Tucci
Chairman and CEO, EMC Corporation

WANG Dazhong
Former President, Tsinghua University

Sir Andrew Witty
CEO, GlaxoSmithKline PLC

Marjorie Yang
Chairman, Esquel Group

ZHAO Chunjun
Former Dean, School of Economics and Management, Tsinghua University

ZHOU Xiaochuan
Vice Chairperson, the 12th National Committee of the Chinese People’s Political
Consultative Conference (CPPCC)
Governor, The People’s Bank of China